Pictures and thoughts from a Memphis Musician's Wife

My Two Jobs

Balancing two totally different lifestyles can be tedious. Most people have no clue of what it is like to travel with a band full time. Most people think it is all fun and music, lots of beer and liquor, and great hotels. This is not always the case. Some days, we spend more time on the band van going to and from the gig than they actually play. Sometimes you arrive at a venue that is so small you would never expect to be able to have a good turnout or good sales, but it turns out to be one of the best gigs you play. There are long days and not a lot of sleep. You spend many of your hours sleeping on a van. You eat good sometimes, and other times you don’t eat anything but gas station food for days. My official job title with Ghost Town Blues Band is “merch lady.” However, at times, I help drive the van, move equipment, play ambassador when the guys are on stage, take photo and video to document the band’s exploits, and whatever else is needed of me. You see, I am normally the only band wife/girlfriend to ride along. I have tried to be an asset to the band, and it has taken me so many places I never thought I would see. Today, I was able to go see Niagara Falls with Jeremy and see one of the most beautiful sights in the United States. I always look forward to seeing what new places we will go and all the beautiful things we get to see.

Then, there is my other job. I am a waitress at one of the best sushi/ Japanese restaurants in Memphis. I love my job because I get to meet so many awesome people. It has always been so amazing to me seeing all the differences in people. I love bringing a smile to people’s faces. This was originally a job I took so Jeremy wouldn’t have to work so much in the summer and we would have income in the winter time, when things got slow on Beale Street. It has now turned into a full time job for me whenever I am not touring with the band.

Balancing these two jobs can be difficult. I usually have to find time to manage Jeremy’s band in between all the other things going on: working at the restaurant, being mom (part-time) to Tytianna and my 14 year old son, keeping my house taken care of (although Jeremy has been doing most of that lately because I am rarely home), taking care of 7 dogs (yes 7), and doing things for my mom. There is not much time for personal time, getting haircuts or nails done, or even going on a date. I have yet to learn how to balance all my activities. If i had about three more of me, maybe I would get everything done in a timely manner. That, however is impossible.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

